healthy · Seasonal · Travel

embracing the winter blues 

There’s something about winter-maybe it’s the lack of greenery, the early evenings or the wind whipping at my legs in -30 windchills. Whatever it is I can usually be found most winters huddled under a blanket, book in hand and cup of tea beside me. With that also comes little motivation to do anything….such as blogging.   

I might offend someone here…..but I used to think that Seasonal Affective Disorder was a total joke. As the years went on I realized as soon as the weather changed, I became the worst version of myself- snippy, moody and overall a hot mess. 

Realizing it wasn’t just an off winter, I decided to see what could be done about it. Over the past two years as soon as the weather changes I start to up my Vitamin D intake. It took a little while but I now find that one little change makes a huge difference in my day-to-day winter life. I now enjoy getting out to do more winter activities to, even if it’s a short little walk. 

What are your tips and tricks to surviving winter? Do you take a vacation somewhere warm, snuggle in near a fire or embrace the cold fully?

Leave a comment